learning

Hi to anyone who reads and or looks at my blog. I have been very busy (no kidding) but I have made something recently and thought that I would share it with you.

 

I’m currently reading:

The trial by Franz Kafka,

When you are engulfed in flames by David Sedaris,

Factory Girls by Leslie T. Chang,

Starting your career as an artist by Angie Wojak and Stacy Miller.

The last one I have borrowed from my new favourite organisation: VANS! Its brought up a lot of practical questions about being an artist and creating work that I haven’t spent much time on before. Stuff like, setting your own goals for success so you can reach success on your own terms. It also advocates that you do copious amounts of reasearch on the galleries, shows, contests, museums, curators etc that you choose to work with so you can be represented in the most clear and accurate way possible. All very welcome advice as I’m a total newbie!

I probably would have done the research anyways but its nice to have someone else to tell me as well. There are also long form interviews and exerpts from interviews with prominent figures in the art scene and their takes on various issues and situations. Its a good read. If you want to be a serious artist, consider reading this book!

Also check out the piece that I made the other day. Its not much to look at but its something!

Leave a Reply

