Remodel

So I made a whole bunch of collages the other day. I tore up the faces of the women on the full pagebeauty product ads and put them back together in novel ways. Unfortunately I managed to save all of the good ones in black and white. OVER the colour files so they’re gone forever. Or until I choose to make

more.

I really liked the idea of tearing down these photoshopped beauties and putting the back together in haphazard ways that obscured the beauty they had. I think often of the ‘perfect body exercise’ where you take the pieces from other women in magazines to build your perfect- idealized body. Whenever I think about it I think about what a frankenstein creation it must be. To take pieces of someone else and try to make it a part of you. Its a very strange, alienating exercise I think. I wanted to explore the same ideas here. I hope you enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Remodel

  1. This may be a little off topic, but not too far off.

    I remember one day being on the bus and the most beautiful woman was walking in front of me. She got on the bus and I noticed this big scar on the back of her leg and it got me to thinking how we are all scarred in some way or other. Sometimes the scars show and sometimes they don’t.

  2. Darn, I forgot to mention that your collages are intriguing. They’re distorted, like looking in the mirrors of the funhouse, or through smudged glasses. They make you want to look closer.

Leave a Reply

